FaithStudents

FaithStudents 3.37

Due Diligence

In this newsletter article I am going to be very honest and clear with you about our plans. I am fully aware that some of you may agree and disagree with me, but I think being honest and forthcoming is more important than stringing you along to our intentions and hopes in the fall.

Just last night I got together with my Alongsiders and thanked them for a great year and a wonderful year of ministry. It was a discouraging end to the year, but that doesn’t change the fact that God worked through what was done and we continue to minister in any way we can. My next meeting with our Alongsider Team is in the middle of August when we talk about our fall plans.

At that meeting we will have three options, much like schools are doing…

  • The ‘normal plan’ – like what regular WNL looks like
  • Plan B – Hybrid WNL with smaller groups
  • Online Version – The Social Distance

In the past when school has been cancelled for weather or BREAKS, we do not have WNL. If school starts up in the fall as normal then it is almost certainly that we will do the normal plan. However, if school does go to a hybrid model of online and in person or just all ONLINE, I am struggling to do the Plan B or the Online Version, once again I am being honest with you all.

I saw the distraught students had during our zoom meetings and the struggles many of them had with

little to no social interaction. many of our students came back when we started up with a need for community and that does affect me. I have not made a firm decision yet and the Alongsiders are a huge part of this decision. None of us can do WNL alone so we need to make this decision together.

However, I want you parents to know where I am leaning. Since we have meet this summer and we have not seen a COVID spike in our group and since the number of deaths are drastically DOWN, I am inclined to meet. This doesn’t mean I know what the year looks like or that we aren’t looking at what we would need to do should the situation change, but I am inclined to say ‘let’s meet’. However, leaders need to be discerning and prayerful and I am asking for your prayers. We need your thoughts and hopes for what we are seeing in our world and in our community.

We want to minister to every student and so how do we do that in EVERY SITUATION. Please be in prayer for our Alongsiders meeting in Mid-August. Thank you for praying for us and for this ministry. Thank you for supporting us and for discipling your own student with passion.

If you have any questions and/or response to our intentions please call me, message me or plan a visit and we can talk about it.

scott@faithchurchaustiin.org, facebook.com/FaithChurchStudents, instagram.com/fcstudentmin/

Our weekly emails will be focused on encouraging you parents with resources and filling you all up to disciple your students. How can I pray for you or your students? 

Scott Owens

 

UPCOMING EVENTS
Summer WNL: July 22nd @ East, July 29th @ East, August 5th TBD
Graduation Banquet: August 2nd @ East  6-8pm
Amazing Race: August 19th Downtown Austin 6pm

Leave a comment